Broken Blossoms

(Griffith, 1919) Music composed by Louis F. Gottschalk

Lillian Gish protected for a time by a tender, kindly Chinese man from an abusive husband. One of D. W. Griffith’s most penetrating and disturbing films.


Performing forces
11 players (violin I and II, cello, bass, flute/piccolo, clarinet I, trumpet I, trombone, percussion/timpani, piano, organ/synthesizer)
Performing forces
55 players (strings 7,7,6,5,4, flute/piccolo, oboe, clarinet I & II, bassoon, 2 Fr. Horns, 2 trumpets, trombone, 2 percussion, tympani, harp, organ, piano). Russian balalaika orchestra (5), Chinese orchestra (5).
Rehearsals One 2 ½ hour rehearsal with orchestra
One hour rehearsal with Russian orchestra
One hour rehearsal with Chinese orchestra
One 2 ½ hour tech rehearsal
One 3 hour 10 minute dress rehearsal
Performance time 89 minutes
Film speed 18 frames per second
Film source MoMA
Projection variable speed 35 mm film projector
DVD projector
artwork:Lidia Bagnoli